Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
31

The Light of Tabor: Notes Toward a Monistic Christology

Lecture Two
31

Here is the second of this year's Stanton Lectures, delivered at the University of Cambridge earlier this month. In this case, the lecture was recorded at the time of its public delivery. The device that captured the “performance” was something called an “Owl,” a rather macabre little object that tracked movement and sound and then created a (to my mind) annoying composite image. I would have preferred a simple single-aspect camera, even one of relatively low resolution, as well as a dedicated microphone; but omnia mutantur and all that.

Since I have been asked by two friends, I should note that the object under the back panel of my jacket was an elastic padded brace for a muscle I pulled in my lower back. I was not smuggling contraband or concealing a phonograph (like the one Harpo uses to impersonate Maurice Chevalier in Monkey Business) or sporting an obi makuro. Honest.

31 Comments
Leaves in the Wind
Leaves in the Wind
Religion, the arts, philosophy, culture...
...Foliis tantum ne carmina manda,
ne turba volent rapidis lidibria ventis...